The first round matches of the 76th Armenian Chess Championship among men were played

20:16 - 12 Jan, 2016

The 76th Armenian Chess Championship kicked off at the Chess House after Tigran Petrosyan.

Armenia’s current champion Karen Grigoryan conceded to Hovik Hayrapetyan while Arman Pashikyan won Samvel Ter-Sahakyan. Tigran Petrosyan lost to Robert Hovhannisyan, Arman Mikaelyan to Zaven Andriasyan and Norayr Torosyan to Hovhannes Gabuzyan. Levon Babujyan-Manuel Petrosyan match ended in a tie.
In the next round the following pairs will compete: Hovik Hayrapetyan-Tigran Petrosyan, Arman Pashikyan-Robert Hovhannisyan, Manuel Petrosyan-Samvel Ter-Sahakyan, Norayr Torosyan-Levon Babujyan, Arman Mikaelyan-Hovhannes Gabuzyan, Karen Grigoryan-Zaven Andriasyan.
Among women last year champion Susanna Gaboyan tied the match with Anna Hayrapetyan. Mane Adamyan and Anna Sargsyan also shared a point. Arpine Grigoryan won Siranush Ghukasyan, Narine Gasparyan defeated Sona Asatryan and Maria Gevorgyan prevailed on Armine Babayan.
In the second round the following female pairs will compete: Siranush Ghukasyan-Susanna Gaboyan, Armine Babayan-Anna Hayrapetyan, Narine Gasparyan-Maria Gevorgyan, Anna Sargsyan-Sona Asatryan and Arpine Grigoryan-Mane Adamyan.

ANOC press office

Other news